Baliem Valley trekking

andrzejŚwietnie przygotowany program trekingu. Doskonała opieka przewodnika Arvida. Athan, szef Jefalgi Tours, czuwał nad przebiegiem całej wyprawy od momentu odbioru z lotniska do czasu wylotu. Goraco polecam tego operatora. Andrzejwojtasik, Poland-Poznan (August 2016)

Une semaine de rêve

michelNous venons de passer une semaine à la rencontre des Papous en Irian Jaya. 4 jours de trek dans la vallée de Baliem et 2 jours pour assister au festival de Wamena. C’était du bonheur! Athan qui était notre contact sur place et Arvid qui nous a guidé ont été adorables et d’un grand professionnalisme. Ils ont su nous faire vivre des moments privilégiés avec les Papous que nous avons rencontrés et nous avons été très sensibles au respect qu’ils avaient envers eux. Un grand merci à tous ceux qui nous ont accompagnés dans cette aventure (guide-cuisinier-porteurs) pour leur efficacité et leur gentillesse. Si l’aventure vous tente, n’hésitez pas: Athan, Arvid et toute leur équipe sauront vous combler! Michel-Veronique, Paris (August 2016).

Trekking + festival dans la merveilleuse vallée de Baliem… à la rencontre de la tribu indigène DANI

DanielElisabethSi vous êtes à la recherche d’une véritable expérience culturelle au milieu d’un paysage montagnard totalement préservé, la vallée de Baliem “is a must to do” !!!

Suite à 3 semaines de voyage intense en en famille sur les îles de Java, Bali et Gili, notre séjour de 8 jours en Papouasie marquera à jamais nos mémoires: développement touristique inexistant, paysages montagneux atypiques, populations locales accueillantes, us et coutumes déroutants pour nous occidentaux, composent assurément la recette d’un dépaysement total !

Par le passé, la chance nous a été donnée de pouvoir approcher les tribus Kichwas en équateur, Iban en Malaisie sur l’île de Bornéo; bien évidement notre voyage en Indonésie n’aurait pas été complet sans cette incursion dans ce secteur isolé de la planète à la rencontre d’une tribu locale !

Après avoir longuement épluché en détail l’ensemble des agences locales proposant la découverte de ce secteur de la Papouasie, l’équipe de Jefalgi Papua Tours nous a permis, par ses compétences, son professionnalisme et sa connaissance approfondie du terrain, une intégration parfaite au sein de la tribu des Dani.

Proche de la Ville de Wamena, ces quelques jours de trekking dans la vallée de Baliem sont indispensables à une découverte authentique du quotidien du peuple Dani vivant à l’écart du monde moderne: ses traditions, sa cuisine, son habitat traditionnel en forme de hutte… une approche culturelle authentique vécu en toute sécurité et qui n’aurait, une fois de plus, pu être possible sans la prise en charge millimétrée et les précieuses compétences de l’ensemble des membres de l’équipe locale de Jefalgi Papua Tours (guide, cuisiniers et porteurs).

Le “Baliem Valley Festival” se déroulant une fois par an au début du mois d’août dans le secteur de Wamena offre l’opportunité unique d’assister en un même lieu aux danses, chants, simulation de combats et autres rites… des diverses tribus avoisinants ce secteur de la Papouasie. Un événement majeur à ne pas manquer si vous êtes sur place à cette date!

Un Grand Merci à Jefalgi Papua Tours pour ce séjour magique hors du temps et plus particulièrement à Athan, Alfit et Pious pour avoir tant pris soin de nous.
Daniel, Elisabeth et Quentin-Strasbourg, France (August 2016).

Outstanding service and people

jorda88I was travelling around West Papua back in November/December with my friend and we decided to book a small tour with Jefalgi as they were providing just what we were looking for! From the moment we emailed Jefalgi all was very smooth and professional!

We had our Sorong – Jayapura flight cancelled and had to arrange one which didn’t gave us a lot of time to connect with our flight to Wamena.  Athan, was emailing me at all time to look for options and he was SUPERB!!

He was waiting for us at Jayapura airport with our boarding passes for Wamena on his hand! He helped us go straight to security and check in our bags so we pretty much done all this in 15 minutes!!  Thanks to him we were able to board our flight as planned!

His colleagues were waiting for us at Wamena airport and at all times they asked us what our preferences were; such as, leave the bags now or just go exploring? Go eat or start walking?

It was great to have the feeling that you can tailor-made your tour a bit with the comfort of having them by your side!

Our accommodation and all what we’ve seen was just outstanding and for this and much more I will highly recommend Jefalgi tours to everyone! Jorda88, Barcelona Spain (May 2014)

Wonderful trip to Baliem Valley and Sentani Festival

alex australiaJefalgi Tours took very good care of us, providing us with a fine guide in Baliem valley, arranging for the hotel, hikes, and visits to the villages. The Baliem area is fascinating, with dramatic scenery and blue skies because of the altitude. One could see rapid changes coming to the locals who only recently emerged from the stone age. People in the villages and along the way as we hiked were very friendly. For all tour, everything went very smoothly, and we were happy with all the arrangements. We would love to take a Jefalgi tour to other parts of Papua again. Alex, Australia (June 2016)

Papua-Baliem Valley Trekking and Festival

sinI am a solo female traveler and visited West Papua to witness the Baliem Valley Festival. I always wanted to visit West Papua, Indonesia. It’s my neighboring country but yet too far and not easy to reach (3 flights to reach Wamena!!!). In view of West Papua is not a popular tourist destination, it’s a bit difficult to get the updated travel information. Finally I’ve made up my mind and started searching for a reliable tour operator to plan the trip. I found Jefalgi Papua Tours and their website is showing lots of information about West Papua, various types of tours to suite different kind of travelers needs and detailed itineraries with price quoted. I dropped a note to their website and got prompt reply from the person-in-charged, Athan. Athan patiently answered all my enquiries about the arrangement of flight, date, festival, trekking matters, etc. Even though I’ve paid for the deposit but still keep on searching for the positive reviews about this tour company. Yes, I was not convinced till I finally managed to find positive reviews about this tour operator and Athan’s professional service. So, in the end, I paid for the 7 days Trekking and Baliem Valley Festival trip. Almost forgot, they always welcome solo traveler to join their tour!

Athan was there to receive his clients including me at the Jayapura airport and helped us to transfer to the next flight to Wamena. Once touched down Wamena, our Tour guide Herriman was already there. My 7 days trip had started with trekking. The trekking is not a difficult one but a chance for us to reach locals’ villages to have a glance of their daily life. Herriman speaks English, very knowledgeable about West Papua. Through my observation, found that he knows the locals quite well and cares for them. We were arranged to stay at the local house and it’s a great opportunity to have in-depth understanding about life of the locals. The lunch box they served is more like home cook food to me which definitely can keep your stomach full to have all the energy to continue with the trek. Have no complaint about the food.

The highlight of this trip is the Baliem Valley Festival which last for several days. A lot of tourist, photographer were gathered there to witness the annual festival participated by different local indigenous tribes. We can choose to sit there to watch the performance, singing and dance by the local or we can even go down to the field to get closer, nearer to the local. Before the trip, I’ve checked with Athan how many days we should attend the festival. He said 1 day is enough thru his past experience with his clients. True enough unless we are obsessed with the performance.

The tour also included spending a day or two to explore Wamena and Jayapura. All the activities highlighted in the itinerary were followed. Accommodation wise (what I mean is hotel here) is far better than what I’ve expected.

My trip at West Papua ended perfectly with the superb arrangement by Jefalgi Papua Tour and the team. They have shown fantastic hospitality and delivered quality service. Most important, you can feel their passionate about the land of West Papua throughout the conversation along the trip. Awesome. SinYit88, Malaysia (Aug 2015).

More than just people, good human beings

PIC23The tour was really nice and the guide knew just all the right people. From locals and also from the people from the tribes. It was so delightful to get a bit closer to the places and the culture of papua feeling safe and in the right company.  Gonzo, Jakarta (June 2016)

Amazing Trip To Baliem Valley

camilaWe are group of 7 people and we were traveling to Baliem Valley with Jefalgi in August 2015. Everything was perfectly organized – they even “stopped” the plane for us!!! For the first time in my life the plane was waiting for me:-). It was the time of Baliem Valley Festive and I really advise to visit it. Camila, Poland (April 2016)

The Experience of Lifetime

I traveled with Athan and his Jefalgi Papua Tours in July 2015 – it turned out the experience of a lifetime. I booked the tour from Tibet and making money transfers to Papua was impossible. Athan took my booking on trust and I paid him the moment I landed in Papua. Athan has a superb relationship with the local tribes. He is knowledgeable and so hospitable. The tour was reasonably priced but the money paid turned out to have been the investment of a lifetime for me. Nearly two years on I still think of the trip every single day – I would not have missed it for the world and can recommend Jefalgi Papua unreservedly. I would urge anyone to go – you need to have an adventurous spirit, an open mind and sturdy footwear – then you are find. And oh, whatever you do, don’t forget your camera. Given half a chance I would love to go back and do it all over again. With Jefalgi you are in safe hands and you can be sure that you will be travelling leaving footprints only and taking with you the most wonderful memories. Gimmick1806, United Kingdom (April 2016)

An amazing adventurous time in Papua

alex

Hi all…We’re a young Portuguese couple living and working in Timor-Leste and we have just came back from a trip to Papua and West Papua: Jayapura/Sentani, Raja Ampat and Baliem Valley. As already noted in a previous post, this is Papua and West Papua, not PNG. In Raja Ampat we did boat tours, scuba-diving and bird-watching; in Baliem Valley we did a 4-day trek among the Dani villages. We had a truly fantastic time and it was largely thanks to Athan and the team at Jefalgi Papua Tours, who did everything to meet our requests, keep us safe, help us with the flights and transfers, answer all our questions, and generally make sure we had a truly unforgettable trip. They really went out of their way to help us with everything, so we really recommend them to anyone planning to travel in Papua and West Papua. Hopefully we’ll be back next year to do the Korowai trip! thanks  AlexJabreu, Timor Leste (May 2016)